Shogun, finally finished

Well I’ve finally finished the book Shogun, by James Clavell. It was a great read and I suggest it to anyone interested in learning more about Japanese culture. The book didn’t exactly end like I had wanted or expected but it was a very good read. Now I am about ten pages into the next read, Warlock, by Wilbur Smith. This third installment of Smith’s Egypt series is set some 60 years after the first installment, River God. It’s very good in just the first section of the book. I expect it to be a very good read ^_^

~ by Mrs. Fox on September 13, 2007.

10 Responses to “Shogun, finally finished”

  1. What didn’t you like about the ending?

    It’s good to see a new post from you.

  2. Well I’ll tell you what I didn’t like about the ending only if you don’t mind any spoilers, I don’t know if you’re gonna read it so I must be cautious 0_o

  3. I’ve read it a million times and I have the TV series on tape if you want it. 😀

  4. Hey, you noticed the smiley face is gnawing on my ear?

    🙄

  5. Oh good good, well now that I know that, I absolutely love the character of Mariko. She is probably my favorite character ever created, she’s my idol 0_0 So that was the part of the book I did not like, the way he story ended. That was complete crap, to be honest. And furthermore, I wasn’t even expecting her to go the way she did. I had so hoped that her and Blackthorne would be together in the end ^_^ silly me. So after Mariko died I had to change my whole outcome for the story and then….. his ship burns 0_o Whiskey Tango Foxtrot?!?! I was expecting at least him to be alright now that the love of his life is gone. Then I had to change my mind again about how the story might end. I considered Lady Ochiba marrying Toranaga, or Blackthorne getting killed, or even Toranaga being assasinated….and the last three hundred pages or so where confusing, really confusing. There are so many plot twists and secrets that I was totally along for the ride at one point, I wasn’t even concerned about trying to guess the outcome. Then at the very end I was wanting to read some war bloody gorey stuff, and I noticed that the author took a lot of time in the village, waiting to go on the hunt with Toranaga. He was spending too much time there, telling secrets and making plans. I gave up hope of reading about battles between Ishido and Toranaga, sooooo when I finally got to the last page I was extremely shocked and surprised to find out Toranaga’s true ambitions. That was kinda cool ^_^ I was happy to know that he had fooled everyone throughout the novel, he had a mask on the entire time. I really enjoyed that last twist. And I was glad to read the last two paragraphs about the battle and Ishido being shamed. I was disheartened about Mariko and and Blackthorne not being together in the end. But after seeing that Toranaga did not die and had beat Ishido, I think the book was outstanding overall. I have learned alot about Japanese culture and romance from the book. I hope you enjoyed it as well.

  6. Oh I loved the book and it is loosely based on historical characters. I think you would love watching the series.

    Have a great weekend.

    When are you guys getting married?

  7. Yeah I’d like to take a look at the series, see how closely it held with the book. Hope you have a great weekend as well. My Honey and I plan to marry next summer sometime, we have a tentative date of July 17 ^_^

  8. I am still working on Dr. Zhivago! For like, two years!

  9. hmmm ok. I’ve never read that book, how is it? The only russian themed book I’ve read is Gorky Park ^_^ so awesome.

  10. It’s going well…so dense though – in a good way. Just means I am even slower than usual. Gorky Park is references in it!

Leave a Reply

 
